What happened during the Eurovision 2019 semi finals- which countries didn't make it through to the Grand Final?

THE Eurovision Song Contest 2019 finalists have been announced.

The winner will be crowned on Saturday, May 18, 2019 – but who are the contestants that have made it through?

What time is the Grand Final on television?

The Eurovision Grand Final will air Saturday, May 18, 2019, and will be aired on BBC One and via the contest's official YouTube channel.

It will kick off at 8pm in the UK.

Only twenty of the acts in the semi-final will make it through to the final, meaning the remainder will reach the end of their road.

And then two days later the grand final will take place on the Saturday May 18th in Tel Aviv, Israel.

h2>Who went through in the second Semi-Final?

This evening, the second semi-final will see a 18 countries compete.

Here's who will be representing the remaining nations…

1. Armenia – OUT

2. Ireland – OUT

3. Moldova – OUT

4. Switzerland – Qualified

LUCA Hänni performed Shot Got Me.

At nine years old, Luca already started playing the guitar and piano – which was something he had self-taught himself over the years.

He competed in 2012 and ended up winning the show, accumulating an impressive 52.85% of the audience votes while also becoming the first non-German to do so.

5. Latvia – Out

Carousel performed That Night.

They four-piece was chosen to perform the song at the contest through Supernova 2019, the music competition which selects Latvia's entries for the annual show.

The group consists of four members: Sabīne Žuga, Mārcis Vasiļevskis, Mareks Logins and Staņislavs Judins.

6. Romania – OUT

7. Denmark – Qualified

8. Sweden – Qualified

John Lundvik performed Too Late For Love.

It wasn’t until 2010, however, that Lundvik grew a passion for all things music, having written When You Tell the World You’re Mine for a royal wedding in Sweden.

The opportunity led to his participation in composing original music for the US family drama Empire.

9. Austria – OUT

Paenda performed Limits.

Its lead singer Gabriela Horn started singing in a choir at the age of six.

But it wasn't until she was 14 that the passion for songwriting and singing became a real passion for the Austrian.

10. Croatia – OUT

Roko Blažević performed The Dream.

On January 11, Houdek revealed in an interview with Slobodna Dalmacija that Roko Blažević would perform the song The Dream.

11. Malta – Qualified

Michela performed Chameleon.

Malta was represented by 18-year-old singer Michela Pace, who goes by just her first name.

She gained instant fame after starring in the first series of The X Factor Malta.

12. Lithuania – OUT

Jurij Veklenko performed Run with the Lions.

Jurij was selected through Eurovizijos" dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka, the Moldovan national selection which selected Lithuania's entry for the Eurovision Song Contest.

13. Russia – Qualified

Sergey Lazarev performed Scream.

Lazarev was selected by the Russian broadcaster.

He's most famous for being a member in the group Smash!! The group ended up parting ways in 2006, subsequently leading to Sergey to launch a solo career.

14. Albania – Qualified

Jonida Maliqi performed Ktheju tokës.

Jonida Maliqi was selected through Festivali i Këngës 57, the music competition that selects Albania's entries for the Eurovision Song Contest.

15. Norway – Qualified

KEiiNO performed Spirit in the Sky.

The group was actually put together in 2018 especially for Norway's Eurovison selection process, the Melodi Grand Prix.

Spirit in The Sky was written by Tom Hugo Hhermansen and his husband, Alex Olsson, with the pair taking inspiration from the historic struggles for equality.

16. The Netherlands – Qualified

Duncan Laurence will perform Arcade.

He competed in the fifth series of The Voice of Holland and made it all the way to the semi-finals.

Duncan Laurence and fellow songwriters Wouter Hardy and Joel Sjöö teamed up together to write the power ballad, Arcade.

17. North Macedonia – Qualified

Tamara Todevska will perform Proud.

She released a popular song with her sister Tijana called Igra luda (Crazy game) in 1997.

Tamara's big break, however, came in 2003 when she performed the song 1003 at the Montenegrin festival Suncane Skale – she managed to scoop up the second place.

18. Azerbaijan – Qualified

Only twenty of these acts will make it through to the final, meaning the remainder will reach the end of their road.

The Big Five countries – those that make the biggest financial contribution to the contest – go straight into the final.

They are the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Spain and Italy.

The host nation Israel is also automatically in the grand final.

On Tuesday (May 14), the first semi-final saw 17 countries compete in Tel Aviv for a place in Saturday’s final.

They were:

1. Cyprus – Qualified

Tamta performed Replay.

Tamta was born and raised in Georgia before moving to Greece at the age of 22.

The successful pop singer found fame after taking part in Greek Idol, where she came in at second place.

2. Montenegro – OUT

D mol performed Heaven.

The group consists of six members, who were selected to represent Montenegro after winning the country's national selection, Montevizija.

Their name was originally D-Moll before it was changed to D Mol in March, 2019.

3. Finland – OUT

Darude feat. Sebastian Rejmanl performed Look Away.

4. Poland – OUT

5. Slovenia – Qualified

Zala Kralj & Gašper Šantl performed Sebi.

This Slovenian musical, from Maribor, formed together in 2018 and have released a number of singles.

6. Czech Republic – Qualified

Lake Malawi performed Friend of a Friend.

The group released their debut album Surrounded by Light on November 10, 2019.

Their song Friend of a Friend currently stands as one of the favourites at this year's live music competition.

7. Hungary – OUT

Joci Pápai performed Az én apám.

8. Belarus – Qualified

9. Serbia – Qualified

10. Belgium – OUT

11. Georgia – OUT

12. Australia – Qualified

13. Iceland – Qualified

Hatari consists of three longtime pals named Klemens Hannigan, Matthías Tryggvi Haraldson, and Einar Stéfansson.

They grew popularity in their country after having performed at multiple events in 2017, which quickly grew their recognition.

14. Estonia – Qualified

15. Portugal – OUT

16. Greece – Qualified

Katerine Duska performed Better Love.

Katerine Duska is a Greek-Canadian singer and songwriter, who received a wide amount of attention following the release of her cover to Arctic Monkeys’ Do I Wanna Know in 2013.

She was born in Montreal, where she would go on to develop a passion for music and eventually made it her full-time job.

17. San Marino – Qualified

Serhat performed Say Na Na Na.

Serhat established his own company in 1994, which would allow him to kick off his producing career.

His first single Rüya-Ben Bir Daha was a moderate success and would lead him to work for a number of Turkish artists.

When is Eurovision 2019 on TV?

The 64th Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Tel Aviv.

The first (May 14) and second semi-finals (May 16th) were broadcast on BBC Four at 8pm.

Meanwhile, the big final on Saturday May 18th 2019 will air on BBC One at the same time where the winner will be crowned during the live show.

Former X Factor contestant and winner of BBC's All Together Now Michael Rice, 21, has been picked to represent us in the contest this year.

Graham Norton will provide the commentary from Tel Aviv.

The programmes will be available to watch online with BBC iPlayer shortly after they are broadcast.

Source: Read Full Article